About me

My name is Pavan Vynatheya and I am from Bangalore. I can speak English, Hindi, Kannada, Tamil (at least a certain dialect) and Sanskrit (not really, but I learnt it for quite a few years). Presently, I am a 4th year BS-MS Physics major at IISER Kolkata, which in fact is not in Kolkata. My research interest is Astrophysics, hopefully.

Education

(Presently, I am in the 4th year of my BS-MS program)

Activities

Most of the time I sit in front of my phone/laptop browsing through google, facebook, reddit, youtube and random articles. This is by far the most wasteful way I spend my time. Other than that, I also sit idly wondering about the various intricacies of life. I have tried very hard to list some of the things people might actually find interesting about me, and here they are:

I am an avid reader. Epic fantasy fiction is my favourite genre. My favourite series include The Wheel of Time, The Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, Ranger's Apprentice to name a few. Only recently have I started exploring other genres, and I hope to continue this.

I love programming in general. More specifically, I like (front-end) web designing. Having had experience making college fest websites and a Biology competition website, I think I have come a far way. Even so, I have a lot more to learn in the future.

I am a classically trained flautist (Carnatic) and have been playing the flute for almost 15 years now. Although I don't learn classical music anymore, I play other tunes - themes, Bollywood songs. Unfortunately, I don't do this very often, something I want to change.

Board games have always been a fasciation to me. My friends and I get together quite often to play board games like Risk, Game of Thrones, Monopoly. In the future, I plan to buy a lot more of these and play them.

I am fairly athletic but not very good at sports. Nowadays, I play a lot of table tennis and badminton, although I am nowhere close to being a good enough player. That said, I enjoy playing sports and would like to start playing others.

I like solving Rubik's puzzles. I have a decently large collection - 2x2x2, 3x3x3, 4x4x4, 5x5x5, Megaminx, Pyraminx, Square-1, Skewb, Mastermorphix. I hope to augment this collection in the future.

Playing video games is another hobby of mine, although this is on a decline. I used to spend hours in the past playing game franchises like Grand Theft Auto, Tomb Raider, Need For Speed. Now, I play only FIFA (sometimes).

Projects

University address :
IISER Kolkata
Mohanpur (not Kolkata)
West Bengal
India